Scroll to top
Search everywhere |
Exclude the Archive |
Search in the Archive
National Premiere / In collaboration with Fondazione Musica per Roma

Philip Glass / Ictus Ensemble / Collegium Vocale Gent / Suzanne Vega

Einstein On The Beach

The grand finale of the 37th edition of the Romaeuropa Festival offers a rare opportunity to discover one of the greatest masterpieces of the 1900s: Einstein on the beach, the great classic of the second half of the century, co- written and composed by Philip Glass. The piece in its musical version is presented for the first time in Rome, interpreted entirely by musicians from the Belgian ensemble Ictus, accompanied by the baroque choir Collegium Vocale Gent and the acclaimed singer/songwriter Suzanne Vega in the role of the narrator. Two hundred minutes of music that represent an absolute physical and mental challenge for the musicians involved, creating a time and a space for sharing with the public, structured by sound and yet characterized by a fluid and personal approach. With a set design by artist Germaine Kruip, this version of Einstein on the Beach cancels, in fact, the gap between audience and stage: the doors of the theatre will remain open for the entire duration of the performance, allowing for the musicians to move around the stage and for the audience to freely enter and leave the room.


Music: Philip Glass
Based on a concept by: Robert Wilson e Philip Glass
Text: Christopher Knowles, Samuel M. Johnson e Lucinda Childs
Narrator: Suzanne Vega
Conducted by: Tom De Cock
Assistente direttore: Michael Schmid
Choir Master: Maria van Nieukerken

Scenografphy: Germaine Kruip
Costumes: Anne-Catherine Kunz
Drammaturgy: Maarten Beirens
Assistente scenografia: Maxime Fauconnier
Light assistants: Nicolas Marc


Technical coordination: Wilfried Van Dyck, Pieter Nys
Sound Engineer: Alexandre Fostier
Assistant Sound engineer: Antoine Delagoutte


Joowon Chung
Magdalena Podkoscielna
Elisabeth Rapp
Charlotte Schoeters

Ursula Ebner
Karolina Hartman
Gudrun Köllner
Cécile Pilorger

Malcolm Bennett
Peter di Toro
Thomas Köll

Philipp Kaven
Martin Schicketanz
Bart Vandewege

Violin: Igor Semenoff
Flutes: Michael Schmid, Chryssi Dimitriou
Keyboards: Jean-Luc Fafchamps, Jean-Luc Plouvier
Clarinets & Sax: Dirk Descheemaeker
Saxophones: Asagi Ito
Sound: Alexandre Fostier
Sound Assistant: Suse Ribeiro

Production Wilfried Van Dyck
Photo © Maxime Fauconnier